Modesto Academy of Music & Design
INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTER SCIENCE (PART 1) - ages 8-14
Tai Wong
Modesto Academy of Music and Design (location map)
Friday, 3:45 PM - 6:45 PM
01/11/19 - 04/12/19 (14 weeks)

Register

INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTER SCIENCE PART 1 & 2 

Fall/Spring: 2 part series - 1 part per semester - each semester 14 weeks - 3 hours weekly - $430 per semester

This is an introduction to coding and computer science using the Micro:bit microcontroller board, and Microsoft's easy and powerful MakeCode block-based coding enviornment.  It is a project-based curriculum with a maker philosophy at its core; the idea is that by making physical objects, students create a context for learning coding and computer science concepts. 

This course is divided into two semesters, with each semester covering specific concepts.  Each concept addressed follows a specific format:  Topic introduction, Mircro:bit activity, and project. Six hours of class time is dedicated to the development of each concept.

First semester:  The students will explore the following concepts:  Introduction to the micro:bit, Algorithms, Variables, Conditionals, Iterations, and Review/Mini Project

Second semester:  The students will explore the following concepts:  Coordinate Grid System, Booleans, The 3 Bs (Bits, Bytes, and Binary), Radios, Arrays, and Culminating Project. 
NOTE: First semester must be taken before this class

 

Material Fee: $14 - 2.0 USB Flashdrive and other class materials 


Minimum: 4
Maximum: 7

Upcoming Meetings
01/11/19    3:45 PM Friday 01/11/19 3:45 PM
01/18/19    3:45 PM Friday 01/18/19 3:45 PM
01/25/19    3:45 PM Friday 01/25/19 3:45 PM
02/01/19    3:45 PM Friday 02/01/19 3:45 PM
02/08/19    3:45 PM Friday 02/08/19 3:45 PM
02/15/19    3:45 PM Friday 02/15/19 3:45 PM
02/22/19    3:45 PM Friday 02/22/19 3:45 PM
03/01/19    3:45 PM Friday 03/01/19 3:45 PM
03/08/19    3:45 PM Friday 03/08/19 3:45 PM
03/15/19    3:45 PM Friday 03/15/19 3:45 PM
03/22/19    3:45 PM Friday 03/22/19 3:45 PM
03/29/19    3:45 PM Friday 03/29/19 3:45 PM
04/05/19    3:45 PM Friday 04/05/19 3:45 PM
04/12/19    3:45 PM Friday 04/12/19 3:45 PM